Winners of the 2019 Art Music Awards announced

The 2019 Art Music Awards hosted by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC) were held at the University of Sydney on Monday 19 August. Individuals and organisations have been recognised for their excellence in the fields of composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music. Australian cult experimental jazz trio The Necks (pictured) were awarded with The Richard Gill Award for Services to Australian Music.

The Necks

The Necks, winners of the Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music. Photo by Georgia Moloney.

Some notable winners on the night were Carl Vine for Orchestral Work of the Year with Implacable Gifts (Concerto for two pianos and orchestra performers by WASO). Instrumental work of the year went to Mary Finister for her work Ignis for James Wannan (viola d’amore) and Christopher Pidcock (cello). Performance of the year was awarded to Speak Percussion with Jessica Aszodi for their performance of Liza Lim’s Atlas of the Sky (texts by Bei Dao and Eliot Weinberger).

Other winners included Zephyr Quartet, Damien Ricketson, Lyn Williams, The WASO and BIFEM. Congratulations to state winners Daniel Susnjar (WA), Cat Hope (VIC) and Gabriella Smart (SA) for their continued contribution to the industry.

See the full list of winners and read more here.