Scale Variable

Scale Variable 2012

Concert 3

Smalley, MacMillan, Ligetti: Etica Ensemble

Roger Smalley Variations on a theme of Chopin (1989) for solo piano
James MacMillan Fourteen Little Pictures (1997) for piano trio
György Ligetti Chamber Concerto, for 13 instruments (1969-70)

Western Australia legend Roger Smalley is celebrated in this program under the direction of Etica founder and conductor, Jon Tooby. Etica performs contemporary chamber music with intellectual rigour, technical command and interpretive confiden

The Chamber Concerto is the clearest link between Ligeti’s supersaturated textural music of the 1960s, and the harmonically clarified, polyrhythmic pieces of the 1970s and the early 1980s .

“..Fourteen Little Pictures… is a powerful chamber work… MacMillan sets in motion a battle of contrasts – of energy and stasis, of ferocious thunder and ghostly echoes – while the unifying element is its mood of dark profundity.” Daily Telegraph

“glittering with fine detail and tonal colour” (The West Australian).

Book online

Etica: Jon Tooby Director, Cello | Semra Lee Violin | Alex Brogan Viola | Cath Cahill Clarinet | Liz Chee Oboe | Philip Everall Bass Clarinet | Rob Gladstones Horn | Emily Green-Armytage Piano | Louise McKay Cello | Zac Rowntree Violin | Bruce Thompson Trombone | Michael Waye Flute | Joan Wright Double Bass

Etica is supported by the Government of Western Australia through the Department of Culture and the Arts and operates under the auspices of Tura New Music.

Book online