Scale Variable 2016

Concert 4: Darkened Descent by Intercurrent

7.30pm Wednesday 14 December
Studio Underground, State Theatre Centre, Perth Cultural Centre
$15/$23/$32.50 Ticketek


Ashley Smith (clarinets), Louise Devenish (percussion) and Emily Green-Armytage (piano) with guest Adam Tan (percussion).


Morton Feldman For Bass, Clarinet and Percussion
John Luther Adams Dark Wind
Lachlan Skipworth The Night Sky Fall
Lachlan Skipworth Intercurrent

Darkened Descent explores the ominous yet pensive combination of bass clarinet, percussion and piano as handled by composers across three generations. The intuitive patterns of Morton Feldman’s fragile sound world give way to the warm earthy blends of John Luther Adams, and these pieces are set against the music of award-winning Western Australian composer Lachlan Skipworth, including the new work Intercurrent commissioned for this program.