Scale Variable 2015

Concert 2 Gesture: The Sound Collectors

7.30pm Friday 17 July
PICA Performance Space
$25/$15 Buy Online


Thierry de Mey – Silence Must Be arr. The Sound Collectors
*Rob Davidson – Human Beings As Well  (2015)
Applebaum – Composition Machine (2014)
*Cat Hope – Sub Aerial (2015)
*Lindsay Vickery – Miracle of the Rose (2015)
Holly Harrison – Tweedledrum (2014)

* world premieres commission by Sound Collectors

Gesture is a collection of works for two percussionists that examine physicality and gesture in the context of contemporary percussion music. A diverse collection of sounds including drums and gongs with AM radios and sheets of metal or paper is explored using movement inspired by conducting patterns, drawing methods and spatialised instrumentation. The program includes three new works composed for The Sound Collectors by Australian composers Rob Davidson, Cat Hope and Lindsay Vickery, alongside works by Pertout, Harrison and Applebaum.

The Sound Collectors are Louise Devenish (WA) and Leah Scholes (VIC). Their collective backgrounds in contemporary music, percussion, theatre and graphic score realisation are combined in a process of exploring, interpreting and sharing new and diverse music for two percussionists. The Sound Collectors have a special interest in the realisation of new works with flexible instrumentation that allow the voices of performers and composers to be heard in performance.