Recognition of Cat Hope and Louise Devenish in 2020 Art Music Awards

At the 2020 Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards, Tura was especially delighted to see Speechless by Cat Hope take out the award for Work of the Year: Dramatic.

Tura has been connected to this project since the beginning, producing the contemporary opera from its development in 2017 with Vitalstatistix in Adelaide, to its world premiere, full-scale performance in the 2019 Perth Festival at Sunset Heritage Precinct. Tura worked closely with Composer and Director Cat Hope, and in partnership with Perth Festival and Monash University, presenting the powerful opera featuring one of Australia’s foremost interpreters of contemporary opera repertoire Judith Dodsworth, Indonesian vocalist Karina Utomo, throat singing specialist Sage Pbbbt, and Perth soprano Caitlin Cassidy, with a combined community choir of 30 voices and a the Australian Bass Orchestra lead by members of Decibel New Music Ensemble.

Cat said of the program: “Music’s power is in the abstract. It is not my intention to speak on behalf of anyone – rather, I have used music to describe my personal response to one of the great humanitarian crises of Australia today.”

Perth Festival Artistic Director Wendy Martin described Speechless as “an utterly powerful, visceral experience… and experiencing it was extraordinary.”

Years in the making, Tura honours Composer and Director Cat Hope not only for the work itself but her tenacity and rigour in seeing it through to full production. This award is a wonderful recognition of this.

Videographer Peter Baker captured the first rehearsal in Melbourne by Speechless soloists with composer and director Cat Hope and Music Director Aaron Wyatt.

Louise Devenish’s award for Performance of the Year: Notated Composition, as well as her State Luminary award, was highly deserved, recognising her ongoing advocacy, commissioning and performance of new percussion music in WA. Her program, Sheets of Sound, was presented by Tura and PICA. The sold-out season featured works by Louise Devenish and Stuart James, Matthias Schack-Arnott, and Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, and Seesaw Magazine called it a “tactile sound world… [bringing together] electro-acoustic music, new instrument designs, and the intersection of performance art with theatre.”

Finally, Tura extends congratulations to all of the winners, and to the Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS for a highly successful, online event. The hour-long ceremony, which will be available to watch for 30 days.

See the full list of award recipients in the Australian Music Centre’s Resonate.

Read about Tura and Gillian Howell’s Award for Excellence in a Regional Area for the Fitzroy Valley New Music Project.