National Art Music Awards Finalists Announced

Tura New Music and Australian Chamber Orchestra are joint finalists in two categories of the annual Art Music Awards presented by the Australian Music Centre and APRA/AMCOS. The categories are Award for Excellence by an Organisation and Award for Excellence in a Regional Area – both for the 2012 Reef Tour.

See the full list of finalists here

Western Australia is well represented in the finalists lists with:

Award for Excellence by an Individual: Cat Hope for supporting and growing new music in Western Australia
Award for Excellence in Experimental Music:Decibel for their 2012 program
Work of the Year: Vocal/Choral Title: Conversations with Ghosts Composers: Paul Kelly and James Ledger
Work of the Year: Jazz,  The World Rushes On, Composer: Alice Humphries, Performed by: Ecila ensemble

The Art Music Awards are presented each year by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Music Centre to recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian music. The Art Music Awards consist of eleven national awards and various State Awards across categories covering composition, performance, and outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music (now two separate Awards), in music education, experimental music, jazz and regional music.

The Awards ceremony will be held in Kensington, Sydney, at the NIDA Parade Theatre on Monday 26 August 2013, hosted by James Morrison and with a live performance program curated by Genevieve Lacey.