Get to Know the In SITU Composers

In SITU is a unique opportunity for artists and producers to explore an exciting new model of presenting independent choreography in enticing and unexpected locations throughout Perth. Composers Tom O’Halloran, Dane Yates, Tao Issaro and Jack Burton, will be collaborating with four choreographers, Dominik Mall, Stefan Karlsson, Richard Cilli and Natalie Allen, Sarah Chaffey and Russell Thorpe, to create original site-specific works at St George’s Cathedral.

Dane Yates

Dane Yates is composer and collaborator focusing on electroacoustic practices and the relationship between music, dance and film. His work focuses on the organic and the subversion of subject, resulting in commissioned works, performances throughout Australia. Dane has continually collaborated with dance and movement based works throughout Perth leading to award-winning pieces in the 2016 Perth Fringe. Dane currently holds a Bachelor of Music (Honours) in composition and music technology through WAAPA, collaborating further with multidisciplinary works.

Tao Issaro

Tao Issaro is a percussionist/composer/music producer from Kerala, South India. Born into the artistic tribe of the “Natyashram” performing arts centre, Tao started his career as a percussionist with the “Daksha Sheth Dance Company”, performing over 500 performances in 30 countries. He was a regular member of a number of Indian bands with which he toured extensively in Asia, Australia, U.K and the U.S. As a solo performer Tao has performed with some of India’s most respected percussionists and instrumentalists. Other than performing Tao has composed and produced music for TV, film and theatre. Tao is currently doing his Honours at WAAPA and working on solo and large ensemble percussion works.

Tom O’Halloran

Tom O’Halloran leads his own original jazz piano trio outfit and conducts orchestras from time to time, composes new classical music, plays wild old analogue synthesizers and even rock guitar. Most recently he has played with acclaimed bassist Robert Hurst (USA), was nominated for a 2012 APRA Australian Art Music award and was a finalist in the 2011 Freedman Foundation Jazz Fellowship – where he was featured at the Sydney Opera House.

Tom O’Halloran leads the Jazz Piano department at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) at Edith Cowan University, and also lectures in jazz composition and improvisation. He is a regularly commissioned composer, and currently holds a Master of Music in classical composition from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music and a Bachelor of Music (Jazz Performance) from WAAPA.

Jack Burton

Jack Burton is a electronic music producer, composer and sound designer based in Perth. He creates music across a range of genres drawing from contemporary classical, ambient and minimal music.